UNL award Medal

The Office of Graduate Studies invites the graduate community to the annual Graduate Awards & Fellowship Reception at the Champions Club from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Wednesday, May 3, 2023.

The Office of Graduate Studies congratulates recipients of the annual Folsom Distinguished Dissertation and Thesis awards, the Graduate Teaching and Research awards, and the Excellence in Graduate Education awards.


Nominations are collected annually. For more information contact Caroline Knuth.

Graduate Student Excellence in Mentoring Award
This award recognizes graduate students who have demonstrated excellence in mentoring undergraduate and other graduate students in research and creative activities.
Name Department
Sarah Eagan Psychology
Jordan Charlton English
Ziyad Smoqi Materials Engineering
Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award
This award recognizes graduate teaching assistants who have demonstrated special effectiveness in teaching undergraduates at Nebraska.
Name Department
Claire Jimenez English
Haolin Fu Business
Outstanding Research & Creative Activities Award
This award recognizes excellence in graduate student research and creativity at Nebraska.
Name Department
Reagan Myers English
Jessica Lingenfelter Materials Engineering
Ashley Mulcahy Toney Nutrition & Health Sciences
Dean’s Award for Excellence in Graduate Education
This award honors faculty members whose dedication to graduate students and commitment to excellence in graduate mentoring have made a significant contribution to graduate education at Nebraska.
Name Position
Eric Weaver Associate Professor, School of Biological Sciences
Dawn O. Braithwaite Willa Cather Professor, Department of Communication Studies
Folsom Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation Award
This award recognizes the outstanding research and creative accomplishments of the university's doctoral students.
Name Program Dissertation Title
Amanda Prokasky Doctor of Philosophy A Longitudinal Examination of Bedtime Routines and Sleep in Toddlers
Harrouna Malgouri Ph.D in History We Have the Power to Combat Imperialism”: Francophone West African, International and Pan-African Solidarity, and American Cold War Politics, 1946-1987
Folsom Distinguished Master's Thesis Award
This award recognizes the outstanding research and creative accomplishments of the university's master's students.
Name Program Thesis Title
Clayton Malone M.S. in Civil Engineering Quantitative Assessment of Alkali-Silica Reaction in Small and Large-scale Concrete Specimens Utilizing Nonlinear Acoustic Techniques
Maria Cecilia Hall M.S. in Environmental Engineering Influence of Swine Manure Storage and Land Application Practices on Mitigating the Spread of Antibiotic Resistance in the Environment
Presidential Fellowship
This award award is given to advanced doctoral or MFA students.
Name Department
Reilly Cooper Biological Sciences, specialization in Ecology, Evolution, & Behavior
Fling Fellowship
This award award is given to advanced masters or doctoral students.
Name Department
Terry Ratzlaff Art, specialization in Photography
Mashael Altwijri Human Sciences, specialization in Child, Youth, & Family Studies
Robert Hall Communication Studies
Dean's Fellowship
This award is given to advanced masters or doctoral students.
Name Department
Joshua Zosky Psychology
Donna Chen Psychological Studies in Education
Alfonso Bartolome Modern Languages & Literatures
Kelsey McCoy Psychology
Renae Sieck Animal Science
Ashley Cypher Music
Rosalind Kichler Sociology
M. Khalid Saifullah Civil Engineering
Katelyn Hepworth Human Sciences
Neida Tornel Modern Languages & Literatures
Ethan Davis Mechanical Engineering
Past Awards